What are the laws concerning marijuana in Mississippi?

Cannabis Leaf

Our office has received numerous calls this week from people asking basic questions about Mississippi’s laws concerning marijuana. (We’re pretty sure this has to do with the recent large scale drug bust in Madison.) As much as we possibly can, we try to help people who have been charged with crimes dealing with controlled substances.

When it comes to simple possession of marijuana not in a motor vehicle, the offense is considered a misdemeanor, and the following penalties apply:
30 grams (just over 1 ounce) or less 1. 1st offense: $100-$250 fine, suspension of driver’s license for 6 months 2. 2nd offense within 2 years of 1st offense: 5-60 days in jail, $250 fine, drug education program, suspension of driver’s license for 6 months 3. 3rd offense within 2 years of 1st offense: 5 days to 6 months in jail, $250-$500 fine, suspension of driver’s license for 6 months
While operating a motor vehicle, the offense is still considered a misdemeanor, and the following penalties apply:
30 grams (just over 1 ounce) or less 1. up to $1,000 fine, not more than 90 days in jail, suspension of driver’s license for 6 months
Simple possession of more than 30 grams of marijuana, whether in a vehicle or not, is considered a felony, and carries the following punishment:
1. more than 30 grams but less than 250 grams: fine up to $1,000, jail for not more than 1 year (if adjudicated as a misdemeanor by prosecutor), suspension of driver’s license for 6 months OR fine up to $1,000, prison for not more than 3 years (if adjudicated as a felony), suspension of driver’s license for 6 months 2. 250 grams but less than 500 grams: 2-8 years, fine up to $50,000, suspension of driver’s license for 6 months 3. 500 grams but less than 1 kilogram: 4-16 years, fine up to $250,000, suspension of driver’s license for 6 months 4. 1 kilogram but less than 5 kilograms: 6-25 years, fine up to $500,000, suspension of driver’s license for 6 months 5. more than 5 kilograms: 10-30 years, fine up to $1,000,000, suspension of driver’s license for 6 months
Whenever anyone is arrested for the possession of a controlled substance, their first priority should be to call an attorney who has experience in dealing with these types of cases. At Coxwell & Associates we have that experience and will do everything we can to resolve the case to the benefit of our clients.

Disclaimer: This blog is intended as general information purposes only, and is not a substitute for legal advice. Anyone with a legal problem should consult a lawyer immediately.

Contact Information